

Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento Waiver and Plea to Driving Under the Influence Three or More Prior Convictions (Vehicle Code 23152 and 23550)

Delendant Name.				
Case Number:				
			l 	
blood (Vehicle Code Section 23152	nolic beverage or drugs or both (Vehicle Co (b)).	· //-	nd/or while havin	g 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in my
dates of	with naving convictions for separate violatic	,	and	ction 23550 of the Vehicle Code with offense
	66 or 23622 of the Vehicle Code if I am conse. In such a case, these convictions shall n	victed of a subsequent o	offense under Se	f subsequent sentencing as specified in ctions 23152 or 23153 of the Vehicle Code which sing the minimum penalties provided in the Vehicle

I understand the penalties are:

- A. **Maximum:** Fine of \$1,000.00, plus penalty assessments of \$2,700.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$889.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$1,000.00, 1 year in jail, revocation of driving privilege for 3 years, and completion of a driving-under-the-influence program, vehicle impoundment at defendant-owner's expense for 90 days pursuant 23594 (unless defendant was driving another's vehicle or is exempted pursuant to Vehicle Code 23594), designation as an habitual traffic offender for a period of 3 years which will result in enhanced penalties if convicted of driving in violation of the license revocation, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for up to three years, surrender of license to court, and possible court-ordered forfeiture of vehicle.
- B. **Minimum Without Probation:** Fine of \$390.00, plus penalty assessments of \$1053.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$767.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$150.00, 120 days in jail, at least 48 hours of which shall be continuous or at least 10 days of community service in lieu of the 48 continuous hours, revocation of driving privilege for 3 years, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 24 months, and designation as an habitual traffic offender for a period of 3 years which will result in enhanced penalties if convicted of driving in violation of the license revocation.
- C. **Minimum With 3 to 5 Years Probation:** Fine of \$390.00, plus penalty assessments of \$1,053.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$767.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$150.00 plus an additional \$150.00 suspended pending violation of probation, plus either a) 120 days in jail, or b) 30 days in the county jail and participation in a 30-month driving-under- the-influence program; revocation by DMV of driving privilege for 3 years, and surrender to the court of your license; an 18 month alcohol program if you have not completed one before, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 24 months, and designation as an habitual traffic offender for a period of 3 years which will result in enhanced penalties if convicted of driving in violation of the license revocation. Standard probation terms and conditions to include: obey all laws, not drive a motor vehicle with any drugs or measurable amount of alcohol in your system, not refuse to complete a blood alcohol chemical test when offered by any peace officer, not drive without a valid California driver's license or without valid insurance.
- D. **Assessment Program:** I understand that I may be ordered to attend an alcohol and drug problem assessment program, and that I will be required to do so if I have been required to attend a licensed program pursuant to court order and failed at least once to comply with the rules and policies of the licensed program other than a rule related to the payment of fees (Vehicle Code Section 23646(b)).
- E. **Ignition Interlock Device:** I understand that, if convicted of an offense that occurred on or after July 1, 2010, I will be required to install a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle owned or operated by me, which will prevent the vehicle from starting if I have alcohol in my body, for a specified term of up to 48 months as required by the Department of Motor Vehicles prior to receiving reissuance of license or restricted license. Additionally, the court may also require this device for a term of one to three years. This requirement will be imposed if I am convicted hereafter of driving while my license is suspended or in violation of license restrictions.
- F. Refusal: If I refused a chemical test (Vehicle Code Section 23577) 18 days in jail will be added to the jail term imposed.
- G. Commercial Vehicle: I understand that the DMV will prohibit me from operating a commercial vehicle for one year if I am convicted of either of the following that occurred in any vehicle: 1) a first DUI offense or, 2) willful refusal to submit to or complete a chemical test to determine my blood alcohol level. The DMV will prohibit me from operating a commercial vehicle ever again if I am convicted of either of the following that occurred in any vehicle: 1) a second or subsequent DUI offense or, 2) willful refusal to submit to or complete a chemical test.

I understand that if I am not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty or no contest could result in my being deported from the United States, excluded from admission to the United States, or denied naturalization as a United States Citizen.

I have discussed any applicable immigration consequences with my attorney.

I understand that if I am currently on probation or parole for any other criminal offense, that such probation could be revoked as a result of my plea today.

I understand that my driver's license suspension or revocation from DMV administrative proceedings is independent of court-imposed penalties and that my driving privilege will not be restored until I provide satisfactory proof to the DMV that I successfully completed the required driving-under-the -influence program, whether or not such a program is required by the court.

READ AND COMPLETE THE REVERSE

	DEFENDANT TO PERSONALLY WRITE YES OR NO IN EACH BOX:	l understand	l give up
1.	Right to a speedy and public jury trial. At the trial, I would be presumed to be innocent, and I could not be found guilty unless,	this right	this right
	after hearing all of the evidence, 12 impartial jurors chosen from the community were unanimously convinced beyond a		
2.	reasonable doubt that I am guilty. I have a right, through my lawyer, to participate in jury selection. Right to confront and cross examine all witnesses against me.		
3.	Right to remain silent and not incriminate myself.		
4.	Right to subpoena and produce evidence.		
5.	Right to be sentenced by a judge: I understand that by giving up this right I stipulate that I may be sentenced by a temporary		
	judge.		
6.	Right to be represented by an attorney at all stages of the proceedings and to have the court appoint one at no charge if I cannot afford my own.		
7.	Right to delay sentencing not less than 6 hours nor more than 5 days after the entry of this plea.		
	DEFENDANT TO PERSONALLY WRITE YES IN ONE OF THE TWO BOXES:		
REF	PRESENTED BY SELF: I give up my right to an attorney		
	RESENTED BY AN ATTORNEY: I have discussed my case with an attorney, we discussed the rights I am giving up by my , the elements of the offense(s) charged, the possible defenses and the consequences of my plea.		
vehicl	e Code Section 23593(a) states: "You are hereby advised that being under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both, impairs you e. Therefore, it is extremely dangerous to human life to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or both. If you continue shol or drugs, or both, and as a result of that driving someone is killed, you can be charged with murder."		
I have	read this document or have had it read for me, and I understand it. I have personally and voluntarily placed the answers in the bo	oxes.	
	admit the separate conviction as alleged. (No Contest or Guilty) to the charge(s) of violation of the Vehicle Code Section(s)		
Signe	d: Date:		
·			
A٦	TTORNEY'S STATEMENT		
l certi	fy that I am the attorney of record for the defendant; that I have fully discussed matters herein with the defendant an	d advised the defe	ndant
there	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	a davioud ino dono	naant
•	that I have explained each of the above rights to the defendant, and the representations of the defendant are the	defendant's own;	
•	that I have explored the facts with defendant and studied defendant's possible defenses to the charge(s);		
•	that I have discussed the nature of the charges and direct consequences of entering a plea; that I have advised about the immigration consequences of a proposed disposition, and defended against those	consequences con	sistent with
•	the goals of and with the informed consent of the defendant and professional standards;	oonocquenoco con	olotorit with
•	that I believe that the plea and waivers are intelligently and expressly made;		
•	that I join the plea and waivers; that I stipulate there is a factual basis for the plea and that the time is waived for	judgment and sent	encing.
The i	mmigration aspect is based on California Penal Code Section 1016.3 (a).		
	Absentia form attached.		
Ciano	d: Date:		
Signe	d: Date:		
IN	TERPRETER'S STATEMENT		
ı	a partition/registered interprets the size to	on cworn truly	
tran	, a certified/registered interpreter, having be slated this form and all the questions therein to the defendant in the language. With the exception of the defendant's	signature. I have	
	pleted this form at the defendant's direction. The defendant indicated understanding the contents of the form and the		
Signe	d: Date:		

CR-174 (Rev: 05/10/2024)