

Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento Waiver and Plea to Driving Under the Influence With Injury No Prior Conviction (Vehicle Code 23554)

(For Court Use Only)					

	Defendant Name:			
	Case Number:	1		
L		1		
Ι,	, understand that on (D	Date)		I am charged with
dr	iving a vehicle while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or drugs or both (Vehicle	Code Section 2	23153(a)), and/or wh	le having 0.08 percent or
m	ore, by weight, of alcohol in my blood (Vehicle Code Section 23153(b)) and when so driving	g, did any act fo	orbidden by law or ne	glected any duty
	sposed by law in the driving of the vehicle, which act or neglect proximately caused bodily in	•	•	. ,

I understand the penalties are:

- A. **Maximum:** 1) Misdemeanor: Fine of \$1,000.00, plus penalty assessments of \$2,700.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$889.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or victim restitution fund assessment of \$1,000.00, 1 year in jail, DMV suspension of driving privilege for 1 year, and vehicle impoundment at defendant-owner's expense for 30 days (unless defendant was driving another's vehicle or is exempted pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 23594), installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 3 years, and surrender to court of your driver's license.2) Felony: The foregoing penalties and fines apply if the offense is a felony, with the following exceptions: three years in state prison plus possible 3-6 year enhancements pursuant to Penal Code Section 12022.7, and \$10,000.00 maximum restitution fine.
- B. **Minimum Without Probation:** Fine of \$390.00, plus penalty assessments of \$1,053.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$767.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$150.00,90 days in jail, DMV suspension of driving privilege for 1 year, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months, and surrender to court of your driver's license.
- C. **Minimum With 3 to 5 Years Probation:** Fine of \$390.00, plus penalty assessments of \$1,053.00, plus additional fees up to an amount of \$767.00, plus restitution to victim(s) in an amount to be determined, if any, or restitution fund assessment of \$150.00 plus an additional \$150.00 suspended pending violation of probation 5 days in jail, an alcohol program of at least 3 months (9 months for offenses on or after 01/01/06 if blood alcohol level was .20 or higher or if refused chemical test), suspension by DMV of driving privilege for 1 year, installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months, and surrender to court of your driver's license. Standard probation terms and conditions to include: obey all laws, not drive a motor vehicle with any drugs or measurable amount of alcohol in your system, not refuse to complete a blood alcohol chemical test when offered by any peace officer, not drive without a valid California driver's license or without valid insurance.
- D. **Assessment Program:** I understand that I may be ordered to attend an alcohol and drug problem assessment program, and that I will be required to do so if I have been required to attend a licensed program pursuant to court order and failed at least once to comply with the rules and policies of the licensed program other than a rule related to the payment of fees (Vehicle Code Section 23646(b)).
- E. **Ignition Interlock Device:** I understand that, if convicted of an offense that occurred on or after July 1, 2010, I will be required to install a certified ignition interlock device in any vehicle owned or operated by me, which will prevent the vehicle from starting if I have alcohol in my body, for a specified term of up to 48 months as required by the Department of Motor Vehicles prior to receiving reissuance f license or restricted license. Additionally, the court may also require this device for a term of one to three years. This requirement will be imposed if I am convicted hereafter of driving while my license is suspended or in violation of license restrictions.
- F. Refusal: If I refused a chemical test (Vehicle Code Section 23577) 48 continuous hours in jail will be added to the jail term imposed.
- G. Commercial Vehicle: I understand that the DMV will prohibit me from operating a commercial vehicle for one year if I am convicted of either of the following that occurred in any vehicle: 1) a first DUI offense or, 2) willful refusal to submit to or complete a chemical test to determine my blood alcohol level. The DMV will prohibit me from operating a commercial vehicle ever again if I am convicted of either of the following that occurred in any vehicle: 1) a second or subsequent DUI offense or, 2) willful refusal to submit to or complete a chemical test.

I understand that if I am not a citizen of the United States, a plea of guilty or no contest could result in my being deported from the United States, excluded from admission to the United States, or denied naturalization as a United States Citizen.

I have discussed any applicable immigration consequences with my attorney.

I understand that if I am currently on probation or parole for any other criminal offense, that such probation could be revoked as a result of my plea today.

I understand that in order to become eligible for a California driver's license, I must give satisfactory proof to the Department of Motor Vehicles of successful completion of an 18-month alcohol rehabilitation program.

I understand that my driver's license suspension or revocation from DMV administrative proceedings is independent of court-imposed penalties and that my driving privilege will not be restored until I provide satisfactory proof to the DMV that I successfully completed the required driving-under-the-influence program, whether or not such a program is required by the court.

READ AND COMPLETE THE REVERSE

	DEFENDANT TO PERSONALLY WRITE YES OR NO IN EACH BOX:	I understand this right	I give up th right
1. Right to a speed	dy and public jury trial. At the trial, I would be presumed to be innocent, and I could not be found guilty unless,	ulio rigrit	ngn
after hearing all	of the evidence, 12 impartial jurors chosen from the community were unanimously convinced beyond a		
	bt that I am guilty. I have a right, through my lawyer, to participate in jury selection. t and cross examine all witnesses against me.		
	silent and not incriminate myself.		
	na and produce evidence.		
·	enced by a judge: I understand that by giving up this right I stipulate that I may be sentenced by a temporary		
judge.	esented by an attorney at all stages of the proceedings and to have the court appoint one at no charge if I		
cannot afford m	y own.		
7. Right to delay se	entencing not less than 6 hours nor more than 5 days after the entry of this plea.		
DEDDEOENTED DV	DEFENDANT TO PERSONALLY WRITE YES IN ONE OF THE TWO BOXES:		
1	SELF: I give up my right to an attorney		
	AN ATTORNEY: I have discussed my case with an attorney, we discussed the rights I am giving up by my the offense(s) charged, the possible defenses and the consequences of my plea.		
vehicle. Therefore, it is of alcohol or drugs, or but I have read this docume	(No Contest or Guilty) to the charge(s) of violation of the Vehicle Code Section(s)	to drive while unde	r the influence
Signed:	Date:		
ATTORN	IEY'S STATEMENT		
AIIOIII	TET O OTATEMENT		
I certify that I am the thereon;	attorney of record for the defendant; that I have fully discussed matters herein with the defendant and	advised the defe	ndant
 that I have e that I have e that I have e that I have e the goals of that I believe 	explained each of the above rights to the defendant, and the representations of the defendant are the explored the facts with defendant and studied defendant's possible defenses to the charge(s); discussed the nature of the charges and direct consequences of entering a plea; advised about the immigration consequences of a proposed disposition, and defended against those cand with the informed consent of the defendant and professional standards; are that the plea and waivers are intelligently and expressly made; are plea and waivers; that I stipulate there is a factual basis for the plea and that the time is waived for justices.	onsequences cor	
The immigration aspe	ect is based on California Penal Code Section 1016.3 (a).		
Absentia fo	orm attached.		
Signed:	Date:		
INTERP	RETER'S STATEMENT		
l,	, a certified/registered interpreter, having be	en sworn, truly	
	and all the questions therein to the defendant in the language. With the exception of the defendant's s at the defendant's direction. The defendant indicated understanding the contents of the form and there		
Signed:	Date:		
CR-175 (Rev: 05/10/20			