Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento
Family Law & Probate

Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act
(UCCJEA), FL-105

Purpose of the Packet

The UCCJEA Declaration is required to be completed because it provides information about
where the children have lived for the past five years and whether any other custody proceedings
have been initiated concerning the children. This information is used by the Court to determine
if we have authority (jurisdiction) to review matters concerning child custody and make orders.
If after completing and filing this form, you become aware of additional information regarding a
custody proceeding in another court, you must complete, serve and file an amended UCCJEA
Declaration.

At the top of the page, print your name, mailing address, email address and telephone number.
Next to the words “Attorney For:” print “Self” to indicate you are acting as your own attorney.

In the second box down, the Court’s name and address may already appear. If not, please print
the following information:

Sacramento Superior Court
Family Relations Courthouse
3341 Power Inn Road, Room 100
Sacramento, CA 95826

In the third box down, print the name of the Petitioner, Respondent and any other party (if the
case has more than two).

The fourth box down applies to (Probate) guardianship cases only. If the case is for guardianship,
print the child’s name. If this is a Family Law Case, leave this section blank.

Print your case number in the box to the right of the fourth box down. If you do not have a case
open, leave this box blank.

Item 1. States that you are a party in this case.

Item 2. Check the box if your address is confidential per Family Code 83429 and you are using a
mailing address other than your physical address.

Item 3. Print the number of minor children of this relationship.
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Superior Court of California, County of Sacramento
Family Law Facilitator’s Office

Box (a). If there is more than one child of this relationship, start with the oldest child. Print the
child’s full name, city and state of birth, date of birth and sex.

Under “period of residence,” provide the time period the child lived at each address during the
last 5 years, or to the child’s date of birth if less than 5 years old. The first line is for the current
information. Print the date that the child moved into the home where your child now resides
today.

In the next box to the right, print the address where the child resides — or as much of it as you
know, such as the city, county and/or state. If you do not include an address, the Court may not
be able to make custody orders in your case. If the address is confidential per Family Code
section 3429, check the box provided.

Further to the right, print the name and current address of the person the child is living with
followed by the relationship of that person to the child, for example, “mother,” “father” or
“parents.”

On the next line down, provide all the information requested relating to the child’s previous
residence. Include the dates the child moved into and out of that address. Continue on separate
lines for each address.

This form can be confusing when the child has lived with both parents. It is appropriate to list
both parents’ names in the section for “Person Child Lived With” for periods of time you lived
together as a family. Also, when both parents share custody of the child in two different homes,
you can show this by completing two lines with the same periods of time and listing the parents’
names and addresses on the two lines.

Complete box (b) if there is more than one child, complete the requested information for the
second child. If the residence information is the same as the first child, check the box below the
child’s name that says, “Residence information is the same as given above for child a.” If the
information is not the same, provide the information on the lines below.

If there have been more addresses for the child(ren) than will fit in the boxes provided, check
box (c) and attach an additional page labeled “Additional Residence Information.” Use this
additional page to list all other addresses for the past five years in the same way you listed the
most recent addresses.

If there are more than 2 children, check box (d) located at the bottom of the form and complete
and attach form FL-105(A). Use this form to list the same information for the additional
children as was included for the first 2 children.

On page 2, at the top of the page under “Short Title,” print the parties’ names (for example
Marriage of Jones or Smith v. Brown) and the Court case number, if you have one.

Item 4 asks whether you have information about, or have been a party or witness in a case in
California or elsewhere, concerning custody of the child(ren) involved in this case. This includes
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family law, child support, domestic violence, guardianships and juvenile dependency cases. If
not, check the box for “No.”

If you do know of a case, check the box for “Yes,” and provide the information requested about
that case under the appropriate case type.

Item 5 asks if one or more domestic violence restraining/protective orders are now in effect. If
not, leave this item blank. If you do know that such orders are in effect, check the box next to
item 5, check the box next to the type of case in which the restraining order was issued and
provide the information requested. If you have a copy of the order, attach it.

Item 6 asks if there is anyone who is not a party to the case who has physical custody or claims
to have custody or visitation rights with any child in this case. If not, check the box for “No.” If
you do know of a non-parent seeking custody or visitation rights, check the box for “Yes” and
provide the information requested about that person in items a, b and c.

At the bottom left of the form, print today’s date next to the word “Date.” Print your name on
the line below the date and sign your name on the line to the right.

Item 7. If you completed any additional pages or form FL-105(A), check the box next to 7 and
print the number of pages you are attaching on the line. Attach the originals to this form and be
sure to make copies of all pages before filing your forms.

Making Copies
Follow the same copying instructions for this UCCJEA Declaration as for the other forms you
are filing.

Serving and Filing
If you are completing the UCCJEA Declaration to file with a Summons and Petition or a Request
for Order, follow the instructions for those forms.

If you are submitting the UCCJEA Declaration by itself, copies must be served on all other
parties to your case before it can be filed. Submit the original and one copy of the Proof of
Service, signed by your server, with the UCCJEA Declaration when you file it with the court.
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